Posted by: sirken2007 | April 8, 2008

April 10, 1979 Red River Valley Tornado Outbreak

All pictures and graphics courtesy the NWS Office in Norman, Oklahoma.

Above you can see the overview map of the Red River Valley Tornado Outbreak of April 10, 1979. This outbreak is significant to me mainly because I was not quite 1 year old when one of the tornadoes struck Wichita Falls, TX that afternoon. My mother has told me many times about how terrible and frightening this storm was when it came barreling into the city of Wichita Falls. She recounts that it appeared as though the sky had descended to the ground and was scraping through the city. Indeed, the tornado was quite wide and did F4 damage throughout most of the city of Wichita Falls. This outbreak is significant to me, also, because it is the single event in my life that has ignited my passion for meteorology and driven me to become a storm chaser.

Overall, there were about 30 tornadoes, total that touched down and wreaked havoc throughout the upper Red River Valley that day. Below I have linked pages to the NWS site dedicated to the study of this outbreak. I encourage everyone who may be interested to read them, as I feel a lot can be learned from the study, even today. Plus, I will only highlight just a few things about the actual Wichita Falls storm and paste a few pictures. A much deeper and more thorough insight can be had be reading the entire study found here: http://www.srh.noaa.gov/oun/wxevents/19790410/

Here is an excerpt from the synopsis/discussion page of the site, talking about the Wichita Falls supercell:

The Wichita Falls storm produced its first tornado at 1653 CST (4:53 PM) near Seymour, TX. The storm’s second tornado, the terrible Wichita Falls tornado, formed at 1755 CST (5:55 PM) to the southwest of the city and moved through the southern and eastern sides of Wichita Falls shortly after 1800 CST (6:00 PM). The tornado finally ended near Waurika, OK after traveling 47 miles. The Wichita Falls storm produced a third and final tornado about 2000 CST (8:00 PM) near Pruitt, OK

The synopsis/discussion page can be found here: http://www.srh.noaa.gov/oun/wxevents/19790410/burgess.php

Below is a satellite image of the Wichita Falls storm. This image was taken at 0z, which was 6 PM CST.

Here is another, more extensive excerpt from the synopsis/discussion page:

The Wichita Falls storm formed north of Abilene, TX. It generally moved to the northeast, but turned to the right along the middle of its path, the period during which it produced its violent tornado. During its life, radar-derived storm tops exceeded 50,000 feet and reflectivities were higher than 50 dBZ. It is interesting to note that the Seymour and Wichita Falls tornadoes both formed during periods of relative decline in storm-top height and reflectivity values, a characteristic that has been noted for a number of supercell storms that have produced several cycles of tornadoes. In particular, note the sharp decline in reflectivity near the genesis time and during the life of the Wichita Falls tornado with maximum values less than 45 dBZ for a brief period. During this period, large hail was occurring in the central and northern portions of Wichita Falls as the tornado devastated the southern portion of the city. No explanation for the unusually low reflectivity values with that phase of the storm (sensed by several radars) has been developed.

The Norman Doppler radar was used to collect dense data (0.5o azimuth spacing and 150 meter gate spacing) on the Wichita Falls storm during the interval leading to the formation of the violent tornado. At 1730 CST (5:30 PM), a core of greater than 50 dBZ and two mesocyclones were seen with the storm. The northeastern mesocyclone in the mesocyclone pair was the occluding parent circulation of the Seymour tornado while the southwestern mesocyclone in the pair was the developing parent circulation of the Wichita Falls tornado. By 1800 CST (6:00 PM), the storm had taken on a very classic supercell look with the tornado-associated mesocyclone and hook echo in the right rear portion of the echo. Note that the 50 dBZ core was no longer evident.


Above is a view looking southwest near Memorial Stadium in Wichita Falls, Texas at the time of tornado touchdown. McNiel Junior High School is shown in the middle left of this photo. The school building was totally destroyed by the tornado.

Above is a view looking north from the south shore of Lake Wichita at the tornado approaching Wichita Falls, Texas. The tornado has widened and intensified at this stage.

The following excerpt is from the Wichita Falls tornado photographs page:

After the tornado left Wichita Falls and travelled northeast, it entered Clay County and changed its appearance. The tornado became multi-vortex, displaying as many as five satellite vortices rotating around the center of circulation. In this stage, the tornado did extensive damage just south of Dean and near Byars, destroying a large number of rural homes, but causing no more fatalities.

Below is a picture showing the tornado and several satellite vortices. I will note here that this aspect of this tornado is what has continued to interest me the most about the outbreak. In my personal, directed studies over the past few years, I have noticed that most, if not all, strong and violent tornadoes are accompanied by satellite vortices. This is something that I feel bears further investigation.

I will end this post with the following, final excerpt from the synopsis/discussion page. It goes without saying that the April 10, 1979 Red River Tornado Outbreak is a significant event and one that has provided multitudes of great information about severe storms and tornadoes.

Lessons to be Learned from the Wichita Falls Tornado

1. Tornado warning and preparedness systems are worth the time and effort it takes to maintain them. All who have looked at and studied the event agree that the death toll would have been much larger had there not been not been such systems in place and functioning on April 10.

2. Vehicles (cars, pickups, and trucks) are poor protection and should be avoided during tornado situations in larger cities where travel is congested and tornado escape routes are not readily available and open for use. The majority of the fatalities were in vehicles, and a number of those victims left homes that were undamaged by the tornado only to be caught in its deadly path as they tried to flee.

3. Well-built modern houses, in general, offer fairly good protection from tornadoes. Some or all of the walls remained for well-built homes (photos 4-6 on the Wichita Falls damage page) and bathrooms in particular provided good protection. Although roughly 4,000 homes were struck by the tornado, there were only five fatalities of people inside homes along the path of the tornado. Many of the 1,800 injured, however, were in homes. This means that those people who moved to the center part of their houses, got down low, and covered themselves, by-in-large escaped with their lives, sustaining injuries instead of death.

4. Even though lesson #3 (above) is true in a violent tornado, the only complete guarantee of safety comes from an underground shelter, an above-ground shelter, or an extremely strongly-built building. McNiel Junior High, a new concrete/steel-reinforced building was not built well enough to provide safe shelter from the tornado. The Southwest National Bank Building was totally destroyed except for its concrete vault, a proxy for an above-ground shelter.

5. As bad as the tornado was, it could have been worse. If McNiel Junior High had been fully occupied by students and teachers at the time of the tornado, there would have been hundreds of additional casualties and many more deaths. Very large groups of people gathered in tornado-vulnerable places, such as schools, stadiums (such as Memorial Stadium), and outdoor events, are disasters waiting to happen. Every year in the United States the threat of a catastrophe looms whenever tornadoes approach large gatherings of people. Fortunately, on April 10, 1979, McNiel Junior High was almost totally unoccupied when the tornado struck and a worse catastrophe was avoided.

Thank you to the NWS Norman, OK Office for their thorough investigation and study of this amazing tornado outbreak, and thank you to all my readers out there who have taken the time to read about this event that has greatly impacted my life in more ways than one.


Responses

  1. Great, informative entry!

  2. JGDIGKSDFKLJASKLJDFKLJSDFKLJDSFHSDJKAHFJKSDHFJKHEUFHAJKDLF

  3. I was 7 years old when this tornado hit Wichita Falls. My family had driven down to Texas to visit my aunt and uncle. I remember this event clearly and am glad to see information posted about the event. My family has many pictures of the damage but of the tornado itself. I would like to find somewhere to post them any suggestions?

  4. Hey Laura,

    Thank you for responding to this post! It is really cool to have a response from someone who was there and remembers the event. I was not yet 1 year old when this event happened, but my parents both remember it well.

    As for the photos that you have, the only place I can think of to start would be the National Weather Service. You can go to the information page for the outbreak here:

    http://www.srh.noaa.gov/oun/wxevents/19790410/

    and at the bottom of the page there is an “Ask Questions/Webmaster email link”.

    I don’t suggest any forums because I don’t frequent any of the weather/chasing forums, but you may look into that avenue as well.

    Let me know if I can help in any other way.

  5. Our house in Wichita Falls at the time was on Bretton Road, two blocks south of Southwest Parkway and about a half mile east of Kemp. We weren’t in the direct path, but we had some strange damage, like a tree snapped off at the base of the crown without breaking any of the power lines that ran between the branches or lifting any shingles from the roofs that the branches touched. Adjacent trees didn’t even lose any leaves. Do you think this could have been a vortex off the main circulation? The damage was of surgical precision.

  6. Hi, Scott! Thanks for the comment. To answer your question, it is highly possible that the damage you are describing was caused by what is referred to as a satellite vortex. Many, if not all, tornadoes have a main vortex that is also surrounded by satellite vortices. Off the top of my head I cannot remember where I read a report about this, but I want to say it came out of the 1995 VORTEX field study.

    Another possible explanation would be that the damage was caused by a smaller, separate tornado.

  7. I am from Wichita Falls and was about 8 years old when the tornado hit. What sticks out in my mind the most about that day was being scared because the house we lived on at the time was a small wood-frame house on the east side of town. I had never seen my father look that scared before and that made us afraid. Thanks for posting this website.

  8. Hey Ken,
    I myself was just under 1 year old when the tornado hit Wichita Falls. Even though I wasn’t old enough to remeber, I have heard the stories from that day. We (my mom and I) were at my grandmothers on Cynthia off of Jacksboro Hwy. My other grandmother and uncle were on Gossett off of Callfield. We did lose a family member 3 days later. Mrs Katherine McKee. Even though I don’t remember, I still cringe every time bad weather comes, even more so when the sirens go off every Monday and I forget that it is the 1st monday of the month.

  9. Thanks for posting about this storm. I was 9 years old and was not part of the one that hit Wichita Falls that day, but I was in Vernon, TX and experienced the other F4 tornado from one of the supercells that day. We were lucky that the tornado missed our house by only a mile or so. It is something I will never forget! To this day, I respect the danger these storms can bring.

  10. I was 16 years old that day.My father was stationed at Sheppard AFB.We were in the process of moving from town onto the base.We were on the base when the tornado hit.Myself and my dad and brothers spent the next few days helping with the cleanup.

  11. I lived in Wichita Falls for 3 years. I moved to California in March of that year. My parents still lived in WF and owned the Fiesta Motel near the Sheppard AFB.
    They were on the road near Sikes Mall when the tornado hit. They thought that was going to be the end. All kinds of objects were pelting the car. They could see huge pieces of roofs, etc. swirling in the air. Dad had the “pedal to the metal” but the car seemed to be stationary because of the wind. Finally the car moved and they said after a few minutes, they emerged to a bright blue sky. He just kept driving and driving because they were so scared. The motel they owned was packed with survivors from the storm, with all kinds of frightening stories. Maybe someone out there remembers my parents. I heard about it on the news in California, and called to see if they were alright. Most of the phone service was out, but my Mom answered on my first try. Miracles do happen. I was so relieved.

  12. I was a 22 year old nurse just entering the Air Force and doing indoctrination at Sheppard AFB when this happened. I came from New England and had never experienced anything about tornados. What a horrifying indoctrination! I remember lying on the floor under my mattress with my heart pounding as the sirens went off. I was suppose to have gone out to the new Sykes center mall with friends that evening but had been tracking the news and stayed in instead. A wise decision on my part as part of the mall was hit.

  13. It has been 30 years since “Terrible Tuesday” but the memory is still fresh. I live in Vernon, Tx, & it missed us by a matter of a few blocks. The family here was all spared, though. It was like a bad dream when we first saw what had happened to our city. The next morning we traveled to Wichita Falls to take supplies to our family that was affected there. There are still some “tell tale” signs of that horrible day left in both cities.

  14. I was 20 years old and was visiting friends off of SW Pkwy when we heard a tornado hit the stadium. Like idiots, we got in our car and tried to outrun it by going east down SW Parkway. We took a left on Kemp and parked at a pizza place. we ran across Kemp to a backyard with a cellar in it. The gate was wired shut. I looked up while trying to get into the gate and saw the tornado. I didnt realize it was it at the time because it was so wide. We got into the cellar only 5 minutes before it went on top of us. The homeowner cried when she got out of the celler. Her house was gone. Only concrete slab left. I will never forget the silence, and the deep dark orange air afterwards.

  15. I greatly appreciate everyone who has left a comment about this article. Your stories really add to it in a way that no journalistic endeavor could. They breathe life into it. Thank you!

  16. I was 6 yes old when the tornado hit. I was in Iowa Park at my babysitter w/ my infant little sister. A neighbor across the street had an underground cellar. When we walked across the street to the cellar, I’ll never forget what the sky looked like. It was a green-gray looking monster and it was deathly quiet w/ no wind. My parents were driving back from Dallas (pre-cell phones) and we had no idea if they were ok. If my parents would have gone through with their original path, I might have grown up w/out parents. This was the single biggest event in my lifetime to that point. I remember driving by the mall and seeing the area next to Memorial Stadium and not being able to process it at 6 yrs old. Traveling around the Country and if I tell people I grew up in that area, people know about Shepard Air Force Base and the 1979 tornado. Even now when I go back to visit and over holidays, it always is brought up in conversation many years after. To thiS day, I’m 37 and have never seen the sky look like that. Hopefully won’t ever see it again.

  17. omg that was bad

  18. I was 14 years old and went to Northwest Christian Academy in Wichita Falls then. My mother managed the Phillips 66 on in town. We just went down Kemp Ave towards the Parkway. The weather alerts sited tornados. Mom desided to go home. We looked up and noticed several block clouds. Then I seen three tornados. They joined into one large tornado and ripped down the parkway. It appeared to be a 1/2 mile wide. It ripped right thru town. We were without power for over a week. The national gaurd came into town to search for the dead and prevent looting. We went into town the next several days to help. I remember they turned a damage grocery store into a temporary morgue. This was a sad day for my hometown. I will never forget that day.

  19. I was at Sikes Senter with my Grandmother for my 11th birthday. We had seen Buck Rodgers in the 21st century and then gone for dinner. I wanted Mexican food and the restaurant in the mall was Monterey House. When it hit we got under out table and were able to walk away. Her car was in the parking lot and while all the windows were blown out the car was drivable. Her house was still intact, but no electricity or phone of course. We had a battery powered radio that we listened to throughout the night for news and my mother drove through the night from Plano to get us and within 5 years my grandmother had moved from Wichita Falls to Eureka Springs, AR. I have not gotten back to Wichita Falls as an adult, but some day I would like to do so. Being in the mall I never saw what hit, but I can remember what it looked like as we walked out of a broken mall.

  20. Blessings to all of you dear folks. My most earnest thoughts are with the folks of that faith-filled city that was rebuilt….twice (1964 and 1979). I live in the Texas panhandle and remember having my tonsils out that day! Behind he front, the wind blew so hard that my grandmother had to grip the wheel in a such. At that an 8 year old was able to notice. Not much of a story, just some warm thoughts..

  21. Blessings to all of you dear folks. My most earnest thoughts are with the folks of that faith-filled city that was rebuilt….twice (1964 and 1979). I lived in the Texas panhandle and remember having my tonsils out that day in Amarillo! The next day, behind the front and on the drive home from the hospital, the wind blew so hard that my grandmother had to grip the wheel in such a way that even a little boy (me) noticed. I wanted a “bottle” (a glass bottle—those were the days) of Nu Grape (another oldie) but didn’t get my wish…no one wanted to get out of the car to face that blustery wind. Not much of a story, just some warm thoughts..Shows that those of us of both young age and distance remember that day. And being “gassed” by the anesthesia (in the era where no IV sedation was used), I was too sick to move my head…..so although not the same, it was a “terrible Tuesday” for me…….!

  22. I was in the 5th grade in vernon tx and my math teacher Mrs Sheldon and her little girl were killed in the tornado. Very scary and sad day

    • I can’t imagine losing anyone to a tornado, but how devastating to a child to lose a teacher

  23. tengo miedo!!!!! antes de venir a wichita falls no sabia de los tornadoss!!!!


Leave a comment

Categories